Nikon Small World 2011

5th Place Alfred Pasieka Germany Microchip surface, 3D reconstruction (500X) Incident light, Normarski Interference Contrast

Nikon has announced the winners of the 37th Small World Microphotography Competition.

Nikon founded this competition in 1974 to recognise excellence in photography through the microscope. In 2011, they received 2,000 entries from around the world and in the last few years the competition has grown by more than 150%. This year’s judges–Alan Boyle, Dan Vergano, Richard Day, PhD, Simon Watkins, PhD, and Michael W. Davidson–have selected the winners.

If you want to be part of Nikon Small World 2011, you can still vote in the Small Photomicrography Competition Popular Vote, which is open until October 30. According to Eric Flem, Communications Manager, Nikon Instruments, “With the Popular Vote, scientists and enthusiasts alike can serve as judges. We hope fun activities like this help create an awareness of photomicrography and spark the public’s interest in learning more about this art form, science and what we do at Nikon.”

Visit our gallery: wp-content/gallery/nikon-small-world-2011-winners

nextmedia Pty Ltd © 2021 All Rights Reserved